One thing a lot of people don't understand about Nevada auto insurance is that you have to have coverage in order to register your vehicle. It might sound trivial for some, but there are several people out there who don't realize this until they go to register. The state laws here are different than a lot of other states in the country, so it's important to make sure you have your bases covered.
Today we want to provide you with all the help you need to get the right Nevada auto insurance. If you're on a tight budget there are ways to save money, but we'll get into that later. Right now we want to focus on the necessities of your plan and how to make sure everything is taken care of accordingly.
#1 A Lapse in Your Policy
There are several states within the United States that offer a 30 day grace period when your insurance lapses. However, if you own Nevada auto insurance it must be paid on time, every single month. If you do default on your payment (even one day after) there is a good possibility your registration could be suspended. The cost to reinstate it is $250 and it doesn't come with any sort of payment plan attached to it.
So let's say this happens to you and you have to get a new policy or renew your previous one. In many cases the policy numbers can change if you have Nevada auto insurance. Make sure you check this, because the new number will have to be reported to the DMV. Some insurance companies will do this for you, but others require you to do it yourself.
Oh, and if this is left up to you it's important to provide the effective date, termination date, and your full name on it. All of us know how easy it is to forget when something like auto insurance is coming up for renewal, so it is important that you make sure to make a mental note of when it is due.
#2 Liability Insurance is the Law
If you live in the state of Nevada it's the law to at least have liability coverage on your vehicle. There are three areas that are required when it comes to insurance here. You have to carry:
* $15,000 bodily injury or death of any one person in an accident
* $30,000 bodily injury or death of two or more persons in any one accident
* $10,000 for destruction of damage replacement in any one accident
Nevada Live was built to keep up-to-date with everyone's coverage in the state. It only pertains to liability coverage, but the system is setup through the Internet. We definitely recommend reading over how Nevada LIVE works, because it could play a major role in your policy from time to time.
#3 The Other Requirements
One thing to understand about liability coverage is that there are different requirements for certain drivers. For instance; if you're a motor carrier that transports people like taxi or bus services, the requirements will be higher than the typical household driver. This is due to more wear and tear on the vehicle, but also the greater risk of an accident occurring.
If you are under a suspension or have been in the past, Nevada auto insurance companies could require you to file an SR-22 Proof of Financial Responsibility with the DMV. Then again; if you own a fleet of vehicles and need coverage it's possible that a self-insurer plan will be necessary.
In the end, you just have to spend the time asking questions and learning more about Nevada auto insurance. If you don't take the right approach it could cost you more money in the long run.
A good first step is to get some Nevada Auto Quotes right now, so that you can immediately see the potential costs and how they differ between the Nevada Auto Insurance Companies providing them.
Naturaly these are free, so there is never any obligation, but it does mean that rather then wondering for example if you can afford comprehensive insurance, or if simple libility cover is your only viable financial alternative, you have a means to KNOW for certain what your options are.